Call for Papers - FIG Congress 2018 6-11 May 2018 in Istanbul - DEADLINE for submission of Peer Review Papers 7 October

Categorie:
Internationaal

CALL FOR PAPERS – NB - DEADLINE FOR PEER REVIEW PAPERS IS 7 OCTOBER 2017

FIG CONGRESS 2018
Istanbul, Turkey
Sunday 6 – Friday 11 May

International Federation of Surveyors (FIG) Annual Conference

During FIG Congress 2018, scientists, experts, researchers, public and private sector representatives active in the field of surveying will come together and share their knowledge, opinions and projects. Along with keynote speakers, there will be oral presentations, pre-events such as Reference Frames in Practice, a workshop organised by Commission 5, Building Information Modelling (BIM) by Commission 10 and a special Young Surveyors Conference. Presentations will be comprised of peer reviewed, scientific, academic, technical and practical papers and participants will be from differing cultural backgrounds and diverse surveying traditions, who possess varying professional experiences and apply multi-professional disciplines. Together with the exhibition and a combination of side events and social activities, the FIG2018 will be of interest to participants from all over the world and will be a memorable experience not to be missed.

PEER REVIEW PAPERS AND PRESENTATIONS
As a special feature, and especially for participants from academia, FIG offers a double blinded peer review process and invites to submit your abstract and full paper. The paper will be reviewed by at least two reviewers in two rounds giving the authors the possibility to improve the paper so that it meets the peer review standard. At the second round the reviewers decide whether the papers pass, or otherwise recommend to present as regular presentation.

DEADLINE for the submission of FULL PAPER is 7 October. Please note that you have to submit your abstract, too.

REGULAR AND SHORT PRESENTATIONS
You can also choose to submit your abstract for regular/short presentation. Full paper is also required, and deadline for full paper submission is 20 February 2018. You must submit your abstract by 15 November 2017.

The overall theme of the Congress is:

Embracing our smart world where the continents connect:
enhancing the geospatial  maturity of societies

In the spirit of “Geospatial Transformation of the World” there are mainly two objectives. These are:

  1. the 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda,
  2. the Sustainability of Surveying Profession

Spatial enablement requires information to be collected, updated, analyzed, represented, and communicated, together with information on land ownership and custodianship, in a consistent manner to underpin good governance of land and its natural resources, whole-of-government efficiency, public safety and security towards the wellbeing of societies, the environment and economy. A society can be regarded as spatially enabled when location and spatial information are commonly available to citizens and businesses to encourage creativity and product development. Societies and their governments need to become spatially enabled in order to have the right tools and information at hand to take the right decisions.

In order to realize these objectives FIG Council collaborates with International Organizations, collaborates at Regional and local levels (visits-events with our members) and collaborates with Commissions, Task Forces and Networks. We do all this work to increase the value of geospatial data for all people. And in order to able to increase the value of geospatial data we have to provide more benefit, more safety, more environmental quality, more growth, more fairness, more education, more gender equality, and more efficiency in governance of urban and rural areas.

Once we were in need of reliable, evidence-based open and/or low-cost data which describe “spatially enabled” society. But today we have to provide transition from being “spatially enabled” society to “spatially mature” society for decision-making. And this transition requires massive creation & consumption of data (structured/not), extended use of affordable smart devices, increasingly high downloading speeds, the Internet of Things, cognitive computing for all to improve human decision-making, the provision of personalized information and the Internet of Me.

It is a well-known fact that location information has changed people’s perceptions. We cannot measure or monitor sustainability and growth without the intelligent use of evidence-based geospatial data. Technology helps us to “uncover” the missing information and reduce inequalities.

The what should be done to increase our skills?

Become a Presenter

1 Submit an abstract

If you would like to present, start by submitting an abstract. You will need the following: abstract, presentation category, keywords, themes, and biographical information.

View our Step-by-Step Guide to submitting a presentation proposal.
Submit your abstract here.

2 Get Accepted

After we receive your presentation proposal, it moves to the evaluation step. We welcome the submission of proposals before 15 November for regular and short presentations and  7 October for full peer review papers. All proposals will be reviewed before end of January 2018.
See important deadlines here.

3 Register

Once your proposal is accepted, you must register before our Technical Committee can schedule your presentation.

 Submit your registration here.

 

Themes

  • Professional Standards and Practice – FIG Commission 1
  • Professional Education – FIG Commission 2
  •  Spatial Information Management – FIG Commission 3
  •  Hydrography – FIG Commission 4
  •  Positioning and Measurement – FIG Commission 5
  •  Engineering Surveys – FIG Commission 6
  •  Cadastre and Land Management – FIG Commission 7
  •  Spatial Planning and Development – FIG Commission 8
  •  Valuation and the Management of Real Estate – FIG Commission 9
  • Construction Economics and Management – FIG Commission 10
  • Real Estate Market Study – FIG Task Force
  • History - The International Institution for the History of Surveying and Measurement

We invite you to submit an abstract and full paper for peer review paper by
7 October 2017
and an abstract for non-peer-review paper by 15 November 2017.

More information on the FIG Congress web site:  www.fig.net/fig2018